Chicago, Sept. 3, 2013 — Chief Learning Officer magazine has announced the finalists for the 2013 Learning In Practice Awards. Now in their 10th year, the Learning In Practice Awards recognize industry leaders who have demonstrated excellence in the design and delivery of employee development programs.

The Learning In Practice awards were established a decade ago to recognize transformational and visionary leaders in enterprise education,” said Norm Kamikow, president and editor-in-chief of the Human Capital Media Group, which publishes Chief Learning Officer magazine. “The winners of these awards are widely regarded in the industry as standard bearers for the continued advancement and evolution of workforce development as a competitive business strategy. This year, more than 300 top learning executives and solution providers were nominated by their peers. The winners are the industry leaders who truly champion innovation and transform it into learning and value for their organizations.”

Gold, silver and bronze Learning In Practice Awards are presented annually. Practitioner awards recognize chief learning officers and qualified senior learning executives for their leadership in developing and executing enterprise education initiatives. Provider awards recognize qualified service providers, vendors and consultants for their work on behalf of a client organization. In addition, each year one outstanding learning executive is singled out to receive the prestigious CLO of the Year honor.

For 2013, the Learning In Practice Award finalists are:

Names appear in alphabetical order, not in rank order.

Practitioner Awards

The Business Impact Award
Jenny Dearborn, SuccessFactors
Wendy Kouba, Merck
Duane LaBom, Rackspace
Dhamayanthi N, HCL Technologies Ltd.
Ken Powell, SunGard
Kimberly Stewart, First Citizens Bank

The Collaboration Award
Professional Development Department, Hogan Lovells US LLP
NAO Learning, Iron Mountain
Performance Excellence, Lash Group
Retirement Services Training, MassMutual Financial Group
NetApp University, NetApp
Organizational Development and Learning, University Hospitals

The Global Learning Award
Chuck Battipede, Hewlett-Packard
Birgitte Ellersgaard, LEO Pharma
Rob Lauber, Yum! Brands Inc.
Andrea McMullen, Life Technologies
Nancy Singer and Sharon Moshayof, Merck/MSD
Hariraj Vijayakumar, Cognizant Technology Solutions

The Innovation Award
Kate Day, Cisco Systems Inc.
Pat Golden, Deltek
Winnie Larsen, Hilton Worldwide
Adri Maisonet-Morales, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of North Carolina
Steve Stone, USAA
David Van Meter, Infinite Campus Inc.

The Strategy Award
Tara D. Gray, Chevron
Wendy Kouba, Merck
William Magagna, Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics
Deborah McCuiston, Virgin America
Dhamayanthi N, HCL Technologies Ltd.
Ann Marie Sidman, Gen Re

The Technology Award
Douglas Clayton, SES
Conrad Cone, The Active Network
Adri Maisonet-Morales, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of North Carolina
Helen Zarba, Bright Horizons Family Solutions

The Trailblazer Award
Kim Dorer, Spectrum Health
Jenifer Johnson, Cleveland Airport System/City of Cleveland
David Koll, ConAgra Foods Inc.
Diane Simmons, Healthcare Financial Management Association
Gary VanderLind, The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.

Provider Awards

Excellence in Academic Partnerships Award
Rutgers University School of Business-Camden Executive Education
University of Phoenix

Excellence in Blended Technology Award
InfoPro Learning Inc.
Origin Learning
Seertech Solutions

Excellence in Community Service Award
Bellevue University
Cornerstone OnDemand
University of Phoenix

Excellence in Content Award
EBSCO Information Services
Enspire Studios

Excellence in E-learning Award
Ivy Planning Group
Saba Software

Excellence in Gaming and Simulations Award
C Technologies Inc.
Carney Inc.
Enspire Studios

Excellence in Social Learning Award
Interactyx Ltd.
Saba Software

Excellence in Vendor Partnership Award
GP Strategies Corp.
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Final rankings and the winner of the coveted CLO of the Year award will be announced during the Fall 2013 Chief Learning Officer Symposium at a special awards dinner on Monday, Sept. 30. Sponsored by Saba and Interactive Video Learning, the dinner will feature a keynote address from 2012 CLO of the Year Pat Crull, group vice president and chief learning officer at Time Warner Cable, and an acoustic performance by Ken Block and Drew Copeland of the platinum-selling pop group Sister Hazel.

For more information about the Learning In Practice awards, please visit Program information and registration details for the Fall 2013 Chief Learning Officer Symposium, which is scheduled for Sept. 30-Oct. 2 at the Rancho Las Palmas Resort and Spa in Rancho Mirage, Calif., can be found at


About Human Capital Media Group

The largest integrated media entity serving the human capital, management and workforce development industries, Human Capital Media (HCM) Group publishes Chief Learning Officer, Diversity Executive, Talent Management and Workforce magazines, the leading publications in their fields. HCM also conducts critical industry research through the Human Capital Media Advisory Group and operates two widely referenced online industry resources, and the interactive Human Capital Media Television (HCM-TV) communications platform.

HCM leverages its award-winning editorial content with innovative integrated media products, including targeted newsletters, webinars, interactive websites, special print and online supplements, resource guides, industry research and benchmarking, a vendor directory, as well as live and virtual conferences that bring together international audiences to network and discuss leading-edge strategy and best practices in the industry. HCM partners with recognized industry experts to provide thought-provoking feature articles, news, opinions and insights through its award-winning publications, events and e-media and give human capital professionals the business intelligence and knowledge they need to succeed in new and changing markets.


Taylar Ramsey
Marketing Coordinator
MediaTec Publishing Inc.
(312) 676-9900 ext. 208


No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *
Name *
Email *